nomad / pilgrim theme in Scripture

Recommended writings:

The Pilgrim Church by E. H. Broadbent

http://www.thepilgrimchurch.com

God and the Nomads by Malcolm Hunter of Nomadic Peoples Network

http://www.ijfm.org/PDFs_IJFM/31_3_PDFs/IJFM_31_3-Hunter.pdf

Bible verses about nomads:

Genesis 4:19-20
Lamech married two women, one named Adah and the other Zillah. Adah gave birth to Jabal, he was the father of those who live in tents and raise livestock.

Genesis 12:4-9
So Abram left, as the LORD had told him, and Lot went with him. Abram was seventy five years old when he set out from Haran. He took his wife Sarai, his nephew Lot, all the possessions they had accumulated and the people they had acquired in Haran, and they set out for the land of Canaan, and they arrived there. Abram traveled through the land as far as the site of the great tree of Moreh at Shechem. At that time the Canaanites were in the land. The LORD appeared to Abram and said, To your offspring (NIV footnote: seed) I will give this land. So he built an alter there to the LORD, who had appeared to him. From there he went on toward the hills east of Bethel and pitched his tent, with Bethel on the west and Ai on the east. There he built an altar to the LORD and called on the name of the LORD. Then Abram set out and continued toward the Negev.

Genesis 13:1-6
So Abram went up from Egypt to the Negev, with his wife and everything he had, and Lot went with him. Abram had become very wealthy in livestock and in silver and gold. From the Negev he went from place to place until he came to Bethel, to the place between Bethel and Ai where his tent has been earlier and where he had first built an altar. There Abram called on the name of the LORD. Now Lot, who was moving with Abram, also had flocks and herds and tents. But the land could not support them while they stayed together, for their possessions were so great that they were not able to stay together.

Genesis 26:23-25
From there Isaac went up to Beersheba. That night the LORD appeared to him and said, I am the God of your father Abraham. Do not be afraid, for I am with you, I will bless you and will increase the number of your descendants for the sake of my servant Abraham. Isaac built an altar there and called on the name of the LORD. There he pitched his tent, and there his servants dug a well.

Genesis 31:22-25
On the third day Laban was told that Jacob had fled. Taking his relatives with him, he pursued Jacob for seven days and caught up with him in the hill country of Gilead. Then God came to Laban the Aramean in a dream at night and said to him, Be careful not to say anything to Jacob, either good or bad. Jacob had pitched his tent in the hill country of Gilead when Laban overtook him, and Laban and his relatives camped there too.

Genesis 35:19-21
Rachel died and was buried on the way to Ephrath (that is, Bethlehem). Over her tomb Jacob set up a pillar, and to this day that pillar marks Rachel’s tomb. Israel moved on again and pitched his tent beyond Migdal Eder.

Deuteronomy 26:1-5
When you have entered the land the LORD your God is giving you as an inheritance and have taken possession of it and settled in it, take some of the firstfruits of all that you produce from the soil of the land the LORD your God is giving you and put them in a basket. Then go to the place the LORD your God will choose as a dwelling for his Name and say to the priest in office at the time, I declare today to the LORD your God that I have come to the land the LORD swore to our forefathers to give us. The priest shall take the basket from your hands and set it down in front of the altar of the LORD your God. Then you shall declare before the LORD your God: My father was a wandering Aramean, and he went down into Egypt with a few people and lived there and became a great nation, powerful and numerous.

Judges 6:1-6
Again the Israelites did evil in the eyes of the LORD, and for seven years he gave them into the hands of the Midianites. Because the power of Midian was so oppressive, the Israelites prepared shelters for themselves in mountains, caves and strongholds. Whenever the Israelites planted their crops, the Midianites, Amalekites and other eastern peoples invaded the country. They camped on the land and ruined the crops all the way to Gaza and did not spare a living thing for Israel, neither sheep not cattle nor donkeys. They came up with their livestock and their tents like swarms of locusts. It was impossible to count the men and their camels, they invaded the land to ravage it. Midian so impoverished the Israelites that they cried out to the LORD for help.

Judges 8:11
Gideon went up by the route of the nomads east of Nobah and Jogbehah and fell upon the unsuspecting army.

2 Samuel 7:1-11
After the king was settled in his palace and the LORD had given him rest from all his enemies around him, he said to Nathan the prophet, Here I am, living in a palace of cedar, while the ark of God remains in a tent. Nathan replied to the king, Whatever you have in mind, go ahead and do it, for the LORD is with you. That night the word of the LORD came to Nathan, saying: Go and tell my servant David, This is what the LORD says: Are you the one to build be a house to live in? I have not lived in a house from the day I brought the Israelites up out of Egypt to this day. I have been moving from place to place with a tent as my house. Wherever I have moved with all the Israelites, did I ever say to any of their rulers whom I commanded to shepherd my people Israel, Why have you not built me a house of cedar? Now then, tell my servant David, This is what the LORD Almighty says: I took you from the pasture and from following the flock to be ruler over my people Israel. I have been with you wherever you have gone, and I have cut off all your enemies from before you. Now I will make your name great, like the names of the greatest men of the earth. And I will provide a place for my people Israel and will plant them so that they can have a home of their own and no longer be disturbed. Wicked people will not oppress them anymore, as they did at the beginning and have done ever since the time I appointed judges over my people Israel. I will also give you rest from all your enemies. The LORD declares to you that the LORD himself will establish a house for you.

2 Samuel 11:10-11
When David was told, Uriah did not go home, he asked him, Haven’t you just come from a distance? Why didn’t you go home? Uriah said to David, The ark and Israel and Judah are staying in tents, and my master Joab and my lord’s men are camped in the open fields.

1 Chronicles 16:14-22
He is the LORD our God, his judgments are in all the earth. He remembers his covenant forever, the word he commanded, for a thousand generations, the covenant he made with Abraham, the oath he swore to Isaac. He confirmed it to Jacob as a decree, to Israel as an everlasting covenant: To you I will give the land of Canaan as the portion you will inherit. When they were but few in number, few indeed, and strangers in it, they wandered from nation to nation, from one kingdom to another. He allowed no man to oppress them, for their sake he rebuked kings: Do not touch my anointed ones, do my prophets no harm.

1 Chronicles 17:1-6
After David was settled in his palace, he said to Nathan the prophet, Here I am, living in a palace of cedar, while the ark of the covenant of the LORD is under a tent. Nathan replied to David, Whatever you have in mind, do it, for God is with you. That night the word of God came to Nathan, saying, Go and tell my servant David, This is what the LORD says: You are not the one to build me a house to live in. I have not lived in a house from the day I brought Israel up out of Egypt to this day. I have moved from one tent site to another, from one living place to another. Wherever I have moved with all the Israelites, did I ever say to any of their judges whom I commanded to shepherd my people, Why have you not built me a house of cedar?

Psalm 105:8-15
He remembers his covenant forever, the word he commanded, for a thousand generations, the covenant he made with Abraham, the oath he swore to Isaac. He confirmed it to Jacob as a decree, to Israel as an everlasting covenant: To you I will give the land of Canaan as the portion you will inherit. When they we but few in number, few indeed, and strangers in it, they wandered from nation to nation, from one kingdom to another. He allowed no one to oppress them, for their sake he rebuked kings: Do not touch my anointed ones, do my prophets no harm.

Psalm 120
I call on the LORD in my distress, and he answers me. Save me, O LORD, from lying lips and from deceitful tongues. What will he do to you, and what more besides, O deceitful tongue? He will punish you with a warrior’s sharp arrows, with burning coals of the broom tree. Woe to me that I dwell in Meshech, that I live among the tents of Kedar! Too long have I lived among those who hate peace. I am a man of peace, but when I speak, they are for war.

Jeremiah 3:1-5
If a man divorces his wife and she leaves him and marries another man, should he return to her again? Would not the land be completely defiled? But you have lived as a prostitute with many lovers, would you now return to me? declares the LORD. Look up to the barren heights and see, Is there any place where you have not been ravished? By the roadside you sat waiting for lovers, sat like a nomad in the desert. You have defiled the land with your prostitution and wickedness. Therefore the showers have been withheld, and no spring rains have fallen. Yet you have the brazen look of a prostitute, you refuse to blush with shame. Have you not just called to me: My Father, my friend from my youth, will you always be angry? Will your wrath continue forever? This is how you talk, but you do all the evil you can.

Jeremiah 35:1-7
This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the LORD during the reign of Jehoiakim son of Joasiah king of Judah: Go to the Recabite family and invite them to come to one of the side rooms of the house of the LORD and give them wine to drink. So I went to get Jaazaniah son of Jeremiah, the son of Habazziniah, and his brothers and all his sons—the whole family of the Recabites. I brought them into the house of the LORD, into the room of the sons of Hanan son of Igdaliah the man of God. It was next to the room of the officials, which was over that of Maaseiah son of Shallum the doorkeeper. The I set bowls full of wine and some cups before the men of the Recabite family and said to them, Drink some wine. But they replied, We do not drink wine, because our forefather Jonadab son of Recab gave us this command: Neither you nor your descendants must ever drink wine. Also you must never build houses, sow seed or plant vineyards, you must never have any of these things, but must always live in tents. Then you will live a long time in the land where you are nomads.

Jeremiah 49:28-33
Concerning Kedar and the kingdoms of Hazor, which Nebuchadnezzar king of Babylon attacked: This is what the LORD says: Arise, and attack Kedar and destroy the people of the East. Their tents and their flocks will be taken, their shelters will be carried off with all their goods and camels. Men will shout to them, Terror on every side! Flee quickly away! Stay in deep caves, you who live in Hazor, declared the LORD. Nebuchadnezzar king of Babylon has plotted against you, he has devised a plan against you. Arise and attack a nation at ease, which lives in confidence, declares the LORD, a nation that has neither gates nor bars, its people live alone. Their camels will become plunder, and their large herds will be booty. I will scatter to the winds those who are in distant places and will bring disaster on them from every side, declares the LORD. Hazor will become a haunt of jackals, a desolate place forever. No one will live there, no man will dwell in it.

Ezekiel 25:1-7
The word of the LORD came to me: Son of man, set your face against the Ammonites and prophesy against them. Say to them, Hear the word of the Sovereign LORD. This is what the Sovereign LORD says: Because you said, Aha! over my sanctuary when it was desecrated and over the land of Israel when it was laid waste and over the people of Judah when they went into exile, therefore I am going to give you to the people of the East as a possession. They will set up their camps and pitch their tents among you, they will eat your fruit and drink your milk. I will turn Rabbah into a pasture for camels and Ammon into a resting place for sheep. Then you will know that I am the LORD. For this is what the Sovereign LORD says: Because you have clapped your hands and stamped your feet, rejoicing with all the malice of your heart against the land of Israel, therefore I will stretch out my hand against you and give you as plunder to the nations. I will cut you off from the nations and exterminate you from the countries. I will destroy you, and you will know that I am the LORD.

Habakkuk 3:2-7
LORD, I have heard of your fame, I stand in awe of your deeds, O LORD. Renew them in our day, in our time make them known, in wrath remember mercy. God came from Teman, the Holy One from Mount Paran. His glory covered the heavens and his praise filled the earth. His splendor was like the sunrise, rays flashed from his hand, where his power was hidden. Plague went before him, pestilence followed his steps. He stood, and shook the earth, he looked, and made the nations tremble. The ancient mountains crumbled and the age-old hills collapsed. His ways are eternal. I saw the tents of Cushan in distress, the dwellings of Midian in anguish.

Matthew 8:19-20
Then a teacher of the law came to him and said, Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go. Jesus replied, Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.

Luke 9:57-58
As they were walking along the road, a man said to him, I will follow you wherever you go. Jesus replied, Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.

2 Corinthians 11:23-27
Are they servants of Christ? (I am out of my mind to talk like this.) I am more. I have worked much harder, been in prison more frequently, been flogged more severely, and been exposed to death again and again. Five times I received from the Jews the forty lashes minus one. Three times I was beaten with rods, once I was stoned, three times I was shipwrecked. I spent a night and day in the open sea, I have been constantly on the move. I have been in danger from rivers, in danger from bandits, in danger from my own countrymen, in danger from Gentiles, in danger in the city, in danger in the country, in danger at sea, and in danger from false brothers. I have labored and worked and have often gone without sleep, I have known hunger and thirst and have often gone without food, I have been cold and naked.

Hebrews 11:8-10
By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place he would later receive as an inheritance, obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going. By faith he made his home in the promised land like a stranger in a foreign country, he lived in tents, as did Isaac and Jacob, who were heirs with him of the same promise. For he was looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and builder is God.

Hebrews 11:13-16
All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised, they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance. And they admitted that they were foreigners and pilgrims on earth. People who say such things show that they are looking for a country of their own. If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return. Instead, they were longing for a better country, a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them.

1 Peter 1:17
And if you address as Father the one who impartially judges according to each one’s work, live out the time of your temporary residence here in reverence.

1 Peter 2:11
Beloved, I urge you are foreigners and pilgrims in the world, to keep away from the desires of the flesh, which war against your soul.

Some practical advice for young and old and all who desire to see life:

Bible reading is a very special thing

we meet with God

therefore it is a time of expecting great things

do not rush but take your time

and make some time

find a quiet place

relax

take deep breathe

slow down

sit somewhere comfortable

not in the bed lying down!

make some room find some space, go somewhere comfortable

and have notebook and pen to write some thoughts

but most important make it a special time

between you and God!

and listen to his voice

what he says to you

how he speaks to you

the Bible is very special

let us treat Bible reading the way it deserves

then it will really become sweeter than honey🍯 to your soul and God will give you the Holy Spirit and love and happiness and peace and rest!

go for coffee with God and the Bible

meet God for coffee

just you and God and the Bible

because God loves to spend time with us

he wants us to learn to be Best Friends

but we have so many other people and friends we talk to and meet for coffee

but God wants to meet for coffee too!

spend some time today with God and the Bible

not lying down in the bed in the morning

but meet with God like we meet with a friend

and then he will begin to slowly speak …

😀

and do not rush and think of million things to do before or after

when you are with God

forget about everything else

all the responsibilities, plans, chores, work, troubles

forget everything

just spend time in secret with God

and he will reward you

learn this discipline everyday and you will be BLESSED

and your life will change

and you will begin to see heaven on earth!

because you will live with God

and if you dont find time in the morning then ask God to find different time in afternoon or evening

but best thing is the morning!

that is why set your alarm and wake up earlier to meet with God for coffee and breakfast and the Bible

and if you miss one day thats ok dont worry

start again the next day

and that is how we grow in our relationship with God

And most important tip: find a Bible reading plan that works for you

I recommend Bible in a year plan

http://www.mcheyne.info/calendar.pdf

Be blessed and may the Lord bless you!

14352426_905537039552177_2804923864734336482_o

Leave a Reply

