Therefore, Come out from them and be separate, says the Lord.

Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness? What harmony is there between Christ and Belial? Or what does a believer have in common with an unbeliever? What agreement is there between the temple of God and idols? For we are the temple of the living God. As God has said: I will live with them and walk among them, and I will be their God, and they will be my people. Therefore, Come out from them and be separate, says the Lord. Touch no unclean thing, and I will receive you. And, I will be a Father to you, and you will be my sons and daughters, says the Lord Almighty.
2 Corinthians 6:14‭-‬18

If we are to come out from among all unbelievers, all idolaters, all the unclean, we shall have to come out from all our nearest and dearest relatives, even fathers and mothers.

Perhaps so, but even then you will find One who will be to you what all the parents in the world cannot be, and you will be to Him sons and daughters in a sense unutterable and eternally enduring.

And here seems, too, a reminiscence of our Lord’s own words to Peter:

Then Peter spoke up, We have left everything to follow you! Truly I tell you, Jesus replied, no one who has left home or brothers or sisters or mother or father or children or fields for me and the gospel will fail to receive a hundred times as much in this present age: homes, brothers, sisters, mothers, children and fields—along with persecutions—and in the age to come eternal life. But many who are first will be last, and the last first.
Mark 10:28‭-31

Our Lord Himself was the first to exemplify, in His own case, this change of all the relationships and affections of life, on the basis of a deeper and more enduring tie.

While Jesus was still talking to the crowd, his mother and brothers stood outside, wanting to speak to him. Someone told him, Your mother and brothers are standing outside, wanting to speak to you. He replied to him, Who is my mother, and who are my brothers? Pointing to his disciples, he said, Here are my mother and my brothers. For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.
Matthew 12:46‭-‬50

Leave a Reply

